Library
Shriners Hospitals for Children - Love to the rescue

Ways to Donate Real Estate

Think Twice Before You Put Out the For Sale Sign

Consider a Gift of Real Estate
Imagine avoiding the hassle of selling a piece of property, with no worry about getting a fair price, and at the same time helping to support Shriners Hospitals for Children® all while qualifying for a federal income tax charitable deduction. This can be your reality when you consider using real estate to make a gift to Shriners Hospitals.

Why Donate Real Estate?
Depending on the method you choose, a gift of real estate to Shriners Hospitals may allow you to:

  1. Make a significant gift to Shriners Hospitals.
  2. Qualify for an income tax charitable deduction.
  3. Reduce or eliminate capital gains tax.
  4. Pay no gift tax on the transfer.
  5. Reduce your estate administration expenses.

A gift of real estate can be completed in a variety of ways. Keep reading for some examples.

Ways to Donate Real Estate

Ways to Give

Make a Direct Gift Today
If you own the property, simply donate it to Shriners Hospitals. You may qualify for an income tax charitable deduction equal to the property’s fair market value and eliminate capital gains tax on the property’s appreciation. This is a good option if you have property that is no longer of use.

Give Through Your Will or Living Trust
If you are not comfortable making an irrevocable gift of property right now, consider leaving it to Shriners Hospitals in your will or revocable living trust. This can be the perfect way to support Shriners Hospitals because you are able to help us in the future without using assets today, and it can be created or changed at any time.

Donate Your Home, but Keep Living There
With a retained life estate, you deed a personal residence or farm to Shriners Hospitals now. You retain the right to occupy the home for life and continue to pay taxes, maintenance and insurance. After your lifetime – or the lifetime of your spouse or another person you choose to retain rights to live in the home – we take possession.

Fund a Charitable Gift Annuity With Property
You may wish to consider donating your property to Shriners Hospitals in exchange for a charitable gift annuity. With a charitable gift annuity, you make a gift and, in return, you (and someone else, if you choose) receive a fixed amount each year for the rest of your life.

Ways to Donate Real Estate

Ways to Give

Make a Bargain Sale
A bargain sale occurs when you sell real estate that you’ve owned for more than one year to Shriners Hospitals for less than its current fair market value, subject to our agreement. After we purchase your property: 1) You receive a cash payment from Shriners Hospitals for the sale price, 2) you qualify for a charitable deduction for the difference between the sale price and the higher fair market value, and 3) we receive the property at a bargain price. You benefit financially, and so do we.

Use Property to Fund a FLIP Charitable Remainder Unitrust
Another approach is to use your property to fund what’s known as a FLIP charitable remainder unitrust. Such a trust can be set up to make lifetime payments to you or any other recipient you name after the property is sold. At your death, Shriners Hospitals receives the balance (remainder) in the trust. Funding a charitable remainder trust with property may provide you with a number of potential benefits, such as an up-front capital gains tax elimination on the increase in the property’s value since you bought it, an income tax deduction for the present value of the remainder interest and income from the trust for the rest of your life once the property is sold.

Establish a Memorial or Endowment Gift
A gift of real estate is a perfect way to honor your loved one through a memorial or endowment type gift. If you have a loved one whose life has been impacted by Shriners Hospitals, we hope you’ll consider making a gift to us in honor of that person. When you make an endowed gift, your contribution is invested and becomes part of our endowment. An annual distribution is made for the purpose you designate. Because the principal remains intact, the fund will generate support in perpetuity.

Ways to Donate Real Estate

Next Steps

Contact us today for more information about using any of these options to support Shriners Hospitals. We would be happy to assist your attorney and other advisors in designing the most suitable plan for you.

Don Gorbandt
Corporate Director of Planned & Major Giving
Phone: 813.367.2241
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: dgorbandt@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/your-planning-library
Clare Meade
Senior Regional Planned & Major Giving Director
Phone: 813.217.3118
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: cmeade@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/cmeade
Kathleen Luzier-Bogolea
Senior Regional Planned & Major Giving Director
Phone: 813.518.7746
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: kluzier-bogolea@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/kluzier-bogolea
MJ Miller
Senior Regional Planned & Major Giving Director
Phone: 801.214.5351
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: mjmiller@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/mjmiller
Terri Andrews
Senior Regional Planned & Major Giving Director
Phone: 314.920.0716
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: tandrews@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/tandrews
David Cantrell
Senior Regional Planned & Major Giving Director
Phone: 813.285.6277
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: dcantrell@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/dcantrell
Alison Petty
Director of Planned and Major Giving Operations
Phone: 813.367.2241
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: apetty@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/apetty
Natalie Deniz
Planned & Major Giving Specialist
Phone: 813.518.7707
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: ndeniz@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/ndeniz
Soledad Toca
Planned & Major Giving Specialist
Phone: 813.518.7615
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: stoca@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/stoca
Bob Hawkes
Planned & Major Giving Officer
Phone: 813.367.2241
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: bob.hawkes@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/bobhawkes
Jennifer Hughes
Director of Principal Gifts and Campaigns
Phone: 713.202.6495
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: jhughes@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/jhughes
Catherine McDonough
Manager of Corporate and Foundation Relations
Phone: 813.205.2719
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: cmcdonough@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/cmcdonough
Jacqui Kasper
Associate Director, Principal Gifts and Campaigns
Phone: 813.344.6167
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: jkasper@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/jkasper
Jeremy Tomlinson
Associate Director, Corporate & Community Engagement
Phone: 813.518.7635
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: jetomlinson@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/jetomlinson
Stacey Perlmutter
Director of Development
Phone: 413.787.2000
Email: sperlmutter@shrinenet.org
516 Carew St.
Springfield, MA 01104

https://shcgiftplanning.org/sperlmutter
Shiva Damghany
Director of Development
Phone: 617.371.4746
Email: sdamghany@shrinenet.org
51 Blossom St.
Boston, MA 02114

https://shcgiftplanning.org/sdamghany
Carolyn Wahto
Development Officer
Phone: 617.371.4807
Email: cwahto@shrinenet.org
51 Blossom St.
Boston, MA 02114

https://shcgiftplanning.org/cwahto
David Schumacher
Director of Development
Phone: 814.875.8781
Email: daschumacher@shrinenet.org
1645 W. 8th St.
Erie, PA 16505

https://shcgiftplanning.org/daschumacher
Terry Diamond
Director of Development
Phone: 215.430.4055
Email: tdiamond@shrinenet.org
3551 N. Broad St.
Philadelphia, PA 19140

https://shcgiftplanning.org/tdiamond
Bonnie Meister
Development Officer
Phone: 215.430.4046
Email: bmeister@shrinenet.org
3551 N. Broad St.
Philadelphia, PA 19140

https://shcgiftplanning.org/bmeister
Paul Finelli
Director of Development
Phone: 864.255.7850
Email: pfinelli@shrinenet.org
950 W. Farris Rd.
Greenville, SC 29605

https://shcgiftplanning.org/pfinelli
Jennifer Pearson
Development Officer
Phone: 864.255.8770
Email: jfpearson@shrinenet.org
950 W. Farris Rd.
Greenville, SC 29605

https://shcgiftplanning.org/jfpearson
Christie Waters
Donor Development Associate
Phone: 864.255.8765
Email: cwaters@shrinenet.org
950 W. Farris Rd.
Greenville, SC 29605

https://shcgiftplanning.org/cwaters
Dale Wallenius
Director of Development
Phone: 859.268.5770
Email: dwallenius@shrinenet.org
110 Conn Terrace
Lexington, KY 40508

https://shcgiftplanning.org/dwallenius
McRae Stephenson
Development Officer
Phone: 859.368.5766
Email: ann.stephenson@shrinenet.org
110 Conn Terrace
Lexington, KY 40507

https://shcgiftplanning.org/annstephenson
Alicia Argiz-Lyons
Director of Development
Phone: 813.975.7118
Email: aargiz-lyons@shrinenet.org
12502 USF Pine Dr.
Tampa, FL 33612

https://shcgiftplanning.org/aargiz-lyons
Thomas Sloan
Director of Development
Phone: 713.793.3709
Email: tsloan@shrinenet.org
6977 Main St.
Houston, TX 77030

https://shcgiftplanning.org/tsloan
Debra Richmond
Development Officer
Phone: 713.793.3947
Email: derichmond@shrinenet.org
6977 Main St.
Houston, TX 77030

https://shcgiftplanning.org/derichmond
Lisa Court
Director of Development
Phone: 409.770.6957
Email: lcourt@shrinenet.org
815 Market St.
Galveston, TX 77550

https://shcgiftplanning.org/lcourt
Lisa Mignerey
Development Officer
Phone: 409.770.6853
Email: lmignerey@shrinenet.org
815 Market St.
Galveston, TX 77550

https://shcgiftplanning.org/lmignerey
Jennifer Martin
Director of Development
Phone: 318.226.4304
Email: jmmartin@shrinenet.org
3100 Samford Ave.
Shreveport, LA 71103

https://shcgiftplanning.org/jmmartin
Jennifer Laurent
Development Officer
Phone: 318.222.5704
Email: jlaurent@shrinenet.org
3100 Samford Ave.
Shreveport, LA 71103

https://shcgiftplanning.org/jlaurent
Aaron J. Hanson
Director of Development
Phone: 626.389.9566
Email: aahanson@shrinenet.org
909 S. Fair Oaks Ave.
Pasadena, CA 91101

https://shcgiftplanning.org/aahanson
Joanne David
Development Officer
Phone: 626.389.9587
Email: jodavid@shrinenet.org
909 S. Fair Oaks Ave.
Pasadena, CA 91101

https://shcgiftplanning.org/jodavid
Nathan Clark
Director of Development
Phone: 801.536.3567
Email: naclark@shrinenet.org
1275 E. Fairfax Rd.
Salt Lake City, UT 84103

https://shcgiftplanning.org/naclark
Kristin Liszkowski
Associate Director of Development
Phone: 801.536.3812
Email: kliszkowski@shrinenet.org
1275 E. Fairfax Rd.
Salt Lake City, UT 84103

https://shcgiftplanning.org/kliszkowski
Alan Anderson
Director of Development
Phone: 916.453.2008
Email: asanderson@shrinenet.org
2425 Stockton Blvd.
Sacramento, CA 95817

https://shcgiftplanning.org/asanderson
Melissa Wood
Associate Director of Development
Phone: 916.453.2110
Email: mwood@shrinenet.org
2425 Stockton Blvd.
Sacramento, CA 95817

https://shcgiftplanning.org/mwood
Bettina Kohlbrenner
Development Officer
Phone: 916.453.2321
Email: bettina.kohlbrenner@shrinenet.org
2425 Stockton Blvd.
Sacramento, CA 95817

https://shcgiftplanning.org/bettinakohlbrenner
Janessa Pulido
Development Officer–Silicon Valley
Phone: 916.453.2321
Email: jpulido@shrinenet.org
2425 Stockton Blvd.
Sacramento, CA 95817

https://shcgiftplanning.org/jpulido
Kathy Park
Director of Development
Phone: 971.544.3334
Email: kkpark@shrinenet.org
3101 SW Sam Jackson Park Rd.
Portland, OR 97239

https://shcgiftplanning.org/kkpark
Devereaux Dion
Associate Director of Development
Phone: 971.282.4605
Email: ddion@shrinenet.org
3101 SW Sam Jackson Park Rd.
Portland, OR 97239

https://shcgiftplanning.org/ddion
Angelique Heinzen
Director of Development
Phone: 509.744.1242
Email: aheinzen@shrinenet.org
911 W. 5th Ave.
Spokane, WA 99210

https://shcgiftplanning.org/aheinzen
Lisa Smith
Associate Director of Development
Phone: 509.252.3381
Email: lissmith@shrinenet.org
911 W. 5th Ave.
Spokane, WA 99210

https://shcgiftplanning.org/lissmith
Lori Suan
Director of Development
Phone: 808.951.3609
Email: lsuan@shrinenet.org
1310 Punahou St.
Honolulu, HI 96826

https://shcgiftplanning.org/lsuan
Dianne Johnson
Director of Development
Phone: 314.692.6430
Email: dsjohnson@shrinenet.org
4400 Clayton Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63110

https://shcgiftplanning.org/dsjohnson
Janet Cline
Development Officer
Phone: 314.872.8330
Email: jcline@shrinenet.org
4400 Clayton Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63110

https://shcgiftplanning.org/jcline
Jennifer Sutch
Director of Development
Phone: 612.596.6201
Email: jsutch@shrinenet.org
215 Radio Drive, Suite 100
Woodbury, MN 55125

https://shcgiftplanning.org/jsutch
Dan Winter
Director of Development
Phone: 773.385.5805
Email: dwinter@shrinenet.org
2211 N. Oak Park Dr.
Chicago, IL 60707

https://shcgiftplanning.org/dwinter
Janet Coffey
Development Officer
Phone: 773.385.5451
Email: jcoffey@shrinenet.org
2211 N. Oak Park Dr.
Chicago, IL 60707

https://shcgiftplanning.org/jcoffey
Mark McCauley
Development Officer
Phone: 773.385.5879
Email: mamccauley@shrinenet.org
2211 N. Oak Park Dr.
Chicago, IL 60707

https://shcgiftplanning.org/mamccauley
Bethany Deines
Director of Development
Phone: 513.872.6029
Email: bdeines@shrinenet.org
3229 Burnet Ave.
Cincinnati, OH 45229

https://shcgiftplanning.org/bdeines
Kari Tucker
Associate Director of Development
Phone: 513.872.6100
Email: kari.tucker@shrinenet.org
3229 Burnet Ave.
Cincinnati, OH 45229

https://shcgiftplanning.org/karitucker

Meet the team

Ways to Donate Real Estate

Let us know your questions.

I Have a Question

Name is required
Please include an '@' in the email address

Thank You for Contacting Us

Someone from Shriners Hospitals for Children will be in contact with you soon. If you need to speak to us immediately, please call us at 813.367.2241.