Library
Shriners Hospitals for Children - Love to the rescue

Charitable Gift Annuities:
Gifts That Give Back

Receive an Income for Life and Save on Taxes

When we give, it’s because we support a certain cause or mission. Not because we expect something in return. However, there are gifts that allow you to support Shriners Hospitals for Children® while also receiving benefits. Charitable gift annuities (CGA) are gifts that give back and pay you income for life.

How It Works
When you give a CGA, you make a contribution of cash or marketable securities owned longer than one year to Shriners Hospitals. In return, we agree to make fixed payments to you for the rest of your life. The annual rate of your payment is based on your age at the time of the gift. The older you are, the higher the rate. Your payment rate doesn’t fluctuate with the stock market, interest rates or inflation. It is firmly set at the time of your gift and never changes. After your lifetime, Shriners Hospitals uses the remaining balance for our work.

You can also provide payments for another individual—typically your spouse, but it could also be a parent, adult child, family member or friend. Or you can establish a two-life gift annuity that pays you and another person if you choose.

Charitable Gift Annuities

Benefits of a Charitable Gift Annuity

  • Based on life expectancy, older annuitants (the person or people receiving the CGA payments) have higher payment rates.
  • You have potential to receive increased disposable income.
  • You may receive an income tax charitable deduction (if you itemize) in the year you set up the gift annuity.
  • Each year a portion of your payment is income tax-free, until you reach your anticipated life expectancy.
  • If you fund your gift annuity with appreciated securities, rather than cash, you could benefit even more with favorable capital gains tax treatment at the time of your gift.
  • After your lifetime, the remaining portion of your gift will support our mission, helping to fulfill your philanthropic goals.

Keep Your Cash!

You can fund a charitable gift annuity with more than just cash. Perhaps you have stock that is producing lower dividends than you had planned on, or you have securities that have turned out to be higher risk than you’re currently comfortable with. You can exchange those for a secure, stable charitable gift annuity and maintain day-to-day financial security. Talk with us or your financial advisor about creative options for funding a gift annuity.

Charitable Gift Annuities

An Example

Our donor, age 75, plans to donate the cash from a maturing $25,000 certificate of deposit to Shriners Hospitals. Because they need continuing income, they decide to give the cash in exchange for a one-life charitable gift annuity that we will issue at the suggested rate of 5.4%, or $1,350 per year.

Because our donor itemizes their tax deductions, they earn a federal income tax charitable deduction of $11,332* (the amount of the $25,000 donation attributable to the gift portion). With a marginal income tax bracket of 32%, the tax savings of $3,626 reduces the net cost of the gift to $21,374.

In the chart you will see recommended rates from the American Council on Gift Annuities, which most nonprofit organizations follow. Check with our representative for current rates and applicable ages for charitable gift annuity eligibility.

One Recipient
Age Rate
60 3.9%
65 4.2%
70 4.7%
75 5.4%
80 6.5%
85 7.6%
90+ 8.6%
Two Recipients
Ages Rate
60/65 3.7%
65/70 4.0%
70/75 4.3%
75/80 4.9%
80/85 5.8%
85/90 7.1%
90/95 8.4%

*Based on a 1.2% charitable midterm federal rate. Deductions and calculations will vary depending on your personal circumstances.

Charitable Gift Annuities

Next Steps

We want to work with you to create a gift that best fits your circumstances and our needs. To learn more about the benefits of establishing a charitable gift annuity with Shriners Hospitals, please contact us today.

Don Gorbandt
Corporate Director of Planned & Major Giving
Phone: 813.367.2241
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: dgorbandt@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/your-planning-library
Clare Meade
Senior Regional Planned & Major Giving Director
Phone: 813.217.3118
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: cmeade@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/cmeade
Kathleen Luzier-Bogolea
Senior Regional Planned & Major Giving Director
Phone: 813.518.7746
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: kluzier-bogolea@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/kluzier-bogolea
MJ Miller
Senior Regional Planned & Major Giving Director
Phone: 801.214.5351
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: mjmiller@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/mjmiller
Terri Andrews
Senior Regional Planned & Major Giving Director
Phone: 314.920.0716
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: tandrews@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/tandrews
David Cantrell
Senior Regional Planned & Major Giving Director
Phone: 813.285.6277
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: dcantrell@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/dcantrell
Alison Petty
Director of Planned and Major Giving Operations
Phone: 813.367.2241
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: apetty@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/apetty
Natalie Deniz
Planned & Major Giving Specialist
Phone: 813.518.7707
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: ndeniz@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/ndeniz
Soledad Toca
Planned & Major Giving Specialist
Phone: 813.518.7615
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: stoca@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/stoca
Bob Hawkes
Planned & Major Giving Officer
Phone: 813.367.2794
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: bob.hawkes@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/bobhawkes
Jennifer Hughes
Director of Principal Gifts and Campaigns
Phone: 713.202.6495
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: jhughes@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/jhughes
Catherine McDonough
Manager of Corporate and Foundation Relations
Phone: 813.205.2719
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: cmcdonough@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/cmcdonough
Jacqui Kasper
Associate Director, Principal Gifts and Campaigns
Phone: 813.344.6167
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: jkasper@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/jkasper
Jeremy Tomlinson
Associate Director, Corporate & Community Engagement
Phone: 813.518.7635
Fax: 813.281.7156
Email: jetomlinson@shrinenet.org
2900 N. Rocky Point Dr.
Tampa, FL 33607

https://shcgiftplanning.org/jetomlinson
Stacey Perlmutter
Director of Development
Phone: 413.787.2000
Email: sperlmutter@shrinenet.org
516 Carew St.
Springfield, MA 01104

https://shcgiftplanning.org/sperlmutter
Shiva Damghany
Director of Development
Phone: 617.371.4746
Email: sdamghany@shrinenet.org
51 Blossom St.
Boston, MA 02114

https://shcgiftplanning.org/sdamghany
Carolyn Wahto
Development Officer
Phone: 617.371.4807
Email: cwahto@shrinenet.org
51 Blossom St.
Boston, MA 02114

https://shcgiftplanning.org/cwahto
David Schumacher
Director of Development
Phone: 814.875.8781
Email: daschumacher@shrinenet.org
1645 W. 8th St.
Erie, PA 16505

https://shcgiftplanning.org/daschumacher
Terry Diamond
Director of Development
Phone: 215.430.4055
Email: tdiamond@shrinenet.org
3551 N. Broad St.
Philadelphia, PA 19140

https://shcgiftplanning.org/tdiamond
Bonnie Meister
Development Officer
Phone: 215.430.4046
Email: bmeister@shrinenet.org
3551 N. Broad St.
Philadelphia, PA 19140

https://shcgiftplanning.org/bmeister
Paul Finelli
Director of Development
Phone: 864.255.7850
Email: pfinelli@shrinenet.org
950 W. Farris Rd.
Greenville, SC 29605

https://shcgiftplanning.org/pfinelli
Jennifer Pearson
Development Officer
Phone: 864.255.8770
Email: jfpearson@shrinenet.org
950 W. Farris Rd.
Greenville, SC 29605

https://shcgiftplanning.org/jfpearson
Christie Waters
Donor Development Associate
Phone: 864.255.8765
Email: cwaters@shrinenet.org
950 W. Farris Rd.
Greenville, SC 29605

https://shcgiftplanning.org/cwaters
Dale Wallenius
Director of Development
Phone: 859.268.5770
Email: dwallenius@shrinenet.org
110 Conn Terrace
Lexington, KY 40508

https://shcgiftplanning.org/dwallenius
McRae Stephenson
Development Officer
Phone: 859.368.5766
Email: ann.stephenson@shrinenet.org
110 Conn Terrace
Lexington, KY 40507

https://shcgiftplanning.org/annstephenson
Alicia Argiz-Lyons
Director of Development
Phone: 813.975.7118
Email: aargiz-lyons@shrinenet.org
12502 USF Pine Dr.
Tampa, FL 33612

https://shcgiftplanning.org/aargiz-lyons
Thomas Sloan
Director of Development
Phone: 713.793.3709
Email: tsloan@shrinenet.org
6977 Main St.
Houston, TX 77030

https://shcgiftplanning.org/tsloan
Debra Richmond
Development Officer
Phone: 713.793.3947
Email: derichmond@shrinenet.org
6977 Main St.
Houston, TX 77030

https://shcgiftplanning.org/derichmond
Lisa Court
Director of Development
Phone: 409.770.6957
Email: lcourt@shrinenet.org
815 Market St.
Galveston, TX 77550

https://shcgiftplanning.org/lcourt
Lisa Mignerey
Development Officer
Phone: 409.770.6853
Email: lmignerey@shrinenet.org
815 Market St.
Galveston, TX 77550

https://shcgiftplanning.org/lmignerey
Jennifer Martin
Director of Development
Phone: 318.226.4304
Email: jmmartin@shrinenet.org
3100 Samford Ave.
Shreveport, LA 71103

https://shcgiftplanning.org/jmmartin
Jennifer Laurent
Development Officer
Phone: 318.222.5704
Email: jlaurent@shrinenet.org
3100 Samford Ave.
Shreveport, LA 71103

https://shcgiftplanning.org/jlaurent
Aaron J. Hanson
Director of Development
Phone: 626.389.9566
Email: aahanson@shrinenet.org
909 S. Fair Oaks Ave.
Pasadena, CA 91101

https://shcgiftplanning.org/aahanson
Joanne David
Development Officer
Phone: 626.389.9587
Email: jodavid@shrinenet.org
909 S. Fair Oaks Ave.
Pasadena, CA 91101

https://shcgiftplanning.org/jodavid
Nathan Clark
Director of Development
Phone: 801.536.3567
Email: naclark@shrinenet.org
1275 E. Fairfax Rd.
Salt Lake City, UT 84103

https://shcgiftplanning.org/naclark
Kristin Liszkowski
Associate Director of Development
Phone: 801.536.3812
Email: kliszkowski@shrinenet.org
1275 E. Fairfax Rd.
Salt Lake City, UT 84103

https://shcgiftplanning.org/kliszkowski
Alan Anderson
Director of Development
Phone: 916.453.2008
Email: asanderson@shrinenet.org
2425 Stockton Blvd.
Sacramento, CA 95817

https://shcgiftplanning.org/asanderson
Melissa Wood
Associate Director of Development
Phone: 916.453.2110
Email: mwood@shrinenet.org
2425 Stockton Blvd.
Sacramento, CA 95817

https://shcgiftplanning.org/mwood
Bettina Kohlbrenner
Development Officer
Phone: 916.453.2321
Email: bettina.kohlbrenner@shrinenet.org
2425 Stockton Blvd.
Sacramento, CA 95817

https://shcgiftplanning.org/bettinakohlbrenner
Janessa Pulido
Development Officer–Silicon Valley
Phone: 916.453.2321
Email: jpulido@shrinenet.org
2425 Stockton Blvd.
Sacramento, CA 95817

https://shcgiftplanning.org/jpulido
Kathy Park
Director of Development
Phone: 971.544.3334
Email: kkpark@shrinenet.org
3101 SW Sam Jackson Park Rd.
Portland, OR 97239

https://shcgiftplanning.org/kkpark
Devereaux Dion
Associate Director of Development
Phone: 971.282.4605
Email: ddion@shrinenet.org
3101 SW Sam Jackson Park Rd.
Portland, OR 97239

https://shcgiftplanning.org/ddion
Angelique Heinzen
Director of Development
Phone: 509.744.1242
Email: aheinzen@shrinenet.org
911 W. 5th Ave.
Spokane, WA 99210

https://shcgiftplanning.org/aheinzen
Lisa Smith
Associate Director of Development
Phone: 509.252.3381
Email: lissmith@shrinenet.org
911 W. 5th Ave.
Spokane, WA 99210

https://shcgiftplanning.org/lissmith
Lori Suan
Director of Development
Phone: 808.951.3609
Email: lsuan@shrinenet.org
1310 Punahou St.
Honolulu, HI 96826

https://shcgiftplanning.org/lsuan
Dianne Johnson
Director of Development
Phone: 314.692.6430
Email: dsjohnson@shrinenet.org
4400 Clayton Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63110

https://shcgiftplanning.org/dsjohnson
Janet Cline
Development Officer
Phone: 314.872.8330
Email: jcline@shrinenet.org
4400 Clayton Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63110

https://shcgiftplanning.org/jcline
Jennifer Sutch
Director of Development
Phone: 612.596.6201
Email: jsutch@shrinenet.org
215 Radio Drive, Suite 100
Woodbury, MN 55125

https://shcgiftplanning.org/jsutch
Dan Winter
Director of Development
Phone: 773.385.5805
Email: dwinter@shrinenet.org
2211 N. Oak Park Dr.
Chicago, IL 60707

https://shcgiftplanning.org/dwinter
Janet Coffey
Development Officer
Phone: 773.385.5451
Email: jcoffey@shrinenet.org
2211 N. Oak Park Dr.
Chicago, IL 60707

https://shcgiftplanning.org/jcoffey
Mark McCauley
Development Officer
Phone: 773.385.5879
Email: mamccauley@shrinenet.org
2211 N. Oak Park Dr.
Chicago, IL 60707

https://shcgiftplanning.org/mamccauley
Bethany Deines
Director of Development
Phone: 513.872.6029
Email: bdeines@shrinenet.org
3229 Burnet Ave.
Cincinnati, OH 45229

https://shcgiftplanning.org/bdeines
Kari Tucker
Associate Director of Development
Phone: 513.872.6100
Email: kari.tucker@shrinenet.org
3229 Burnet Ave.
Cincinnati, OH 45229

https://shcgiftplanning.org/karitucker

Meet the team

Charitable Gift Annuities

Let us know your questions.

I Have a Question

Name is required
Please include an '@' in the email address

Thank You for Contacting Us

Someone from Shriners Hospitals for Children will be in contact with you soon. If you need to speak to us immediately, please call us at 813.367.2241.